

The students, staff, faculty and management cordially invite you to the inaugural ceremony of the

National Science Day (NSD-RTU-2024)

"Indigenous Technologies for Viksit Bharat"

Prof. Subhas Chandra Pan Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati

will be the Chief Guest

Prof. Amalendu Chakraborty

Vice-Chancellor, Rabindranath Tagore University, Hojai, Assam

will preside

Date: 28th February 2024 (Wednesday)

Time: 10:00 am

Venue: RTU Conference Hall (Bharat Tirtha Bhawan)



National Science Day (NSD-RTU-2024) 28th February 2024

Inaugural Program Schedule

Venue: RTU Conference Hall (Bharat Tirtha Bhawan)

10:00 am	Invocation – University Anthem
10:02 am	Lighting of Holy Lamp
10:03 am	Felicitation of the Guest
10:05 am	Welcome Address Dr. S Kumar Asso. Professor & HOD, Department of Chemistry
10:08 am	About National Science Day Prof Kaushik Chanda Convenor, NSD-2024
10:10 am	Introduction of Chief Guest Dr Jayanta Kumar Sarmah Co-Convenor, NSD-RTU-2024.
10.12 am	Felicitation Address Prof. Amalendu Chakraborty. Honorable Vice Chancellor, RTU
10:17 am	Chief Guest Address Prof. Subhas Chandra Pan Department of Chemistry Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati
10.27 am	Vote of Thanks Dr Sujit R Acharjee Asso. Professor Department of Chemistry
10.30 am	National Anthem
10.30-11.00 am	Tea break
11.00-12.30 am	Chief Guest Talk On "Rings in Drugs and Significance of Chirality" by Prof. Subhas Chandra Pan, IIT Guwahati
12.30-2.00 pm	Lunch Break
200-3.00 pm	Expert Talk by Prof Mrinmoy De, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
3.00-4.00 pm	Expert Talk on "Scientific Advancement- a boon or Bane." by Prof Balamurali MM, Vellore Institute of Technology, Chennai

ABOUT NATIONAL SCIENCE DAY -2024

National Science Day is celebrated in India on February 28 each year to mark the discovery of the Raman effect by Indian physicist Sir C. V. Raman on 28 February 1928. for which Sir C.V. Raman was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930. NSD-RTU-2024 is a one day hybrid Science Festival for science students, organized by the Department of Chemistry, RTU, Hojai, Assam in order to promote science in young minds through the spirit of invention and innovation. The theme of the National Science Day is "Indigenous Technologies for Viksit Bharat"

"We owe a lot to the ancient Indians, who taught us how to count without which no worthwhile scientific discovery could have been made." - Albert Einstein

Sir. C. V. Raman, Homi Jehangir Bhabha, Vikram Sarabhai, Har Gobind Khorana, Satyendra Nath Bose, Srinivasa Ramanujan, Meghnad Saha and several others have made substantial contributions to modern science. This event is an opportunity to celebrate the contributions of Indian scientists and to nurture the interest and passion in science among young innovative minds who are the beacons of future India

About the Department

The Department of Chemistry at Rabindranath Tagore University (formerly Hojai College) was established in 1987. Mr. Sushobhan Sarkar, the department's founder HoD and one of the founding teachers of the Faculty of Science, Hojai College. The major in chemistry in the undergraduate curriculum was introduced in 1998. Since then, a sizable number of students have graduated from this department with a B.Sc. (with Chemistry) and gone on to pursue PG and doctoral degrees at some of the country's leading institutions such as IITs, Gauhati University, Rajiv Gandhi University, Assam University, and others. The PG programme at Rabindranath Tagore University began in 2020, and the Ph.D. program in 2023.

Rabindranath Tagore University

Rabindranath Tagore University is a Public State University located at, Hojai, Hojai district, Assam. The university is established through the Rabindranath Tagore University Act, XXXIV of 2017 which was passed by the State Legislature of Assam in 2017. The Act was approved by the Governor of Assam on 16 October 2017. It was created by upgrading Hojai College, established on 11 July 1964, a general degree college in Hojai district, Assam. It was named after Sri Rabindranath Tagore, in 1913, the first Asian, non-European, Nobel Laureate in Literature, an Indian polymath who was active as a poet, writer, playwright, composer, philosopher, social reformer, educationist and painter during the age of Bengal Renaissance. The UGC has recognized Rabindranath Tagore University as an institution "empowered to award degrees as specified by the UGC under section 22 of the UGC Act 1956 by conducting courses through its own departments, its constituent colleges and/or through its affiliated colleges in regular mode with the approval of concerned statutory bodies/councils. The educational institution also provides courses through Krishna Kanta Handiqui State Open University (KKHSOU), and Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) courses in Distance Learning mode. Currently the university has 17 academic departments offering UG,PG and PhD degrees.

List of Speakers

- Prof. Subhas Chandra Pan, Professor, Department of Chemistry IIT Guwahati
- Prof Mrinmmoy De, Associate Professor, Department of Organic Chemistry, IISc, Bangalore
- Prof .Balamurali MM, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, SAS, VIT, Chennai

Organizing Committee

CHIEF PATRON

Prof. Amalendu Chakraborty Vice-Chancellor

VICE PATRON

Mr. Tilak Ch. Kalita Registar i/c

Dr. Amar Gautam Acad Registrar i/c Dr. Sekhar Kanti Sarkar **Deputy Registrar**

ADMISSIONS OPEN

B.Sc. (Chemistry) Honours

B.Sc. (Physics) Honours

B.Sc. (Mathematics) Honours

B.Sc. (Botany) Honours

B.Sc. (Zoology) Honours)

M.Sc. (Chemistry)

M.Sc. (Botany, Zoology)

All esteemed faculties of RTU, Hojai.



🛖 RTU Road, Hojai - 782435, Assam





rabindranathtagoreuniversity@gmail.com

RABINDRANATH TAGORE UNIVERSITY



ৰবীন্দ্ৰনাথ ঠাকুৰ বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়

HOJAI, ASSAM

NSD-RTU-2024 National Science Day

"Indigenous Technologies for Viksit Bharat"



Ideas For The Vision VIKSIT BHARAT @2047

> 66 Today the goal of the country is Viksit Bharat, Sashakt Bharat! We cannot stop until this dream of a

28 FEBRUARY, 2024

Convenor

Prof. Kaushik Chanda Department of Chemistry

Co-Convenor

Dr. Jayanta Kumar Sarmah Associate Professor, **Department of Chemistry** Convenor, RTU VIKSIT BHARAT @2047 Cell

Organized by

Department of Chemistry Rabindranath Tagore University, Hojai RTU VIKSIT BHARAT @2047 Cell